Book of Night by Holly Black

Book of Night is a Dark adult fantasy by Holly Black. The book is set to be published on May 3rd, 2022 by Tor Books.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus.

Book NameBook of Night
AuthorHolly Black
GenreFantasy, Adult
LanguageEnglish
No. of Page320
Date of PublicationMay 3rd 2022
PublisherTor Books

Book of Night Summary

In Charlie Hall’s world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and cosmetic preferences—but also to increase power and influence.

You can alter someone’s feelings—and memories—but manipulating shadows has a cost, with the potential to take hours or days from your life.

Your shadow holds all the parts of you that you want to keep hidden—a second self, standing just to your left, walking behind you into lit rooms. And sometimes, it has a life of its own.

Charlie is a low-level con artist, working as a bartender while trying to distance herself from the powerful and dangerous underground world of shadow trading. She gets by doing odd jobs for her patrons and the naive new money in her town at the edge of the Berkshires.

But when a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie’s present life is thrown into chaos, and her future seems at best, unclear—and at worst, non-existent.

Determined to survive, Charlie throws herself into a maelstrom of secrets and murder, setting her against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, shadow thieves, and her own sister—all desperate to control the magic of the shadows.

With sharp angles and prose, and a sinister bent, Holly Black is a master of shadow and story stitching. Remember while you read, light isn’t playing tricks in Book of Night, the people are.

Book of Night Age Rating | Book of Night Age-Appropriate

Book of Night is an Adult novel and it is obvious that the novel is written for the adults readers of 18 and up and is not suitable for anyone under the age of 18.

Book of Night Parents Guide

  • Please use caution and make sure you are in the right headspace.
  • This book contains a lot of blood depiction, and self-harm to get blood because of the magic in this book.
  • Very brief mention of cancer, gore, violence, death, murder, and child abuse.
  • Toxic living situations, depression, grief depiction, panic attacks, anxiety.
  • Gun violence.
  • Drinking, brief mention of alcoholism, drugging, throwing up.
  • Captivity/themes of being forced into places – this book very much focuses on trauma.
Book of Night Parents Guide | Book of Night Age Rating | 2022
Book of Night Parents Guide | Book of Night Age Rating | 2022

In the world of shadow magic, Charlie was a successful thief, but to the locals, she would always be a useful amateur, willing to palm a wedding ring or retrie.

About The Author

Holly Black is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of over thirty fantasy novels for kids and teens. She has been a finalist for an Eisner Award and the Lodestar Award, and the recipient of the Mythopoeic Award, a Nebula, and a Newbery Honor.

Her books have been translated into 32 languages worldwide and adapted for film. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret library.

Official website: blackholly.com

A book should appeal to a particular age group. But it also needs to be the right length, have the right vocabulary, and contain the level of content kids are emotionally ready for.

Stay tuned to get more updates on the age rating of all movies, tv shows, books, and games. Finally, any suggestions are always welcomed.

Also, please make use of the comment box for your reviews. We are always providing all age ratings for kids, We will make the easy and best way for your kids.

Hi, I am Henna. I am working with age rating juju as a content writer for one year. I choose to write because it is something that gives you a chance to explore yourself, that's what I am doing.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *