Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix (#2 Rise of the Empress)

“All my life, I've thought myself weaker than others. But everyone has to work at being brave, don't they? Day after day, in their own way.” ― Julie C. Dao, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Age Rating, Parents Guide, Plot
Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Age Rating, Parents Guide, Plot

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix 

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao is a good Asian-themed YA fantasy. This is the second book in the Rise of Empress series. This is the second book in a duology of  Rise of Empress series, first book is Forest of a Thousand Lanterns just released and is set sometime before this book and had featured different characters.

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Age Rating

We will recommend age rating 14 and above for the book. Parents Guide is required to make children understand the events of the book.

Book Name Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix 
Series Rise of Empress
Author Julie C. Dao
Genre Fantasy, YA
ISBN 1524738336 (ISBN13: 9781524738334)
Recommended Age Rating 14+
Language English
Date of Publication 6 November 2018
No. of Page 384
Publisher Penguin Books
Note! If you already read the book, please inform us about the parental guidance here with your support, we can bring out a better vision to everyone.

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Parents Guide

  • Scary and Dark theme.
  • References of infrequent violence are included with swords and daggers, punching, kicking, blood is mentioned with brief descriptions.
  • You may find some images that are very disturbing.
  • Characters used their magical elements or abilities during fights, like the army that can convert in the form of snakes or humans, blood rituals including eating victims’ hearts, an epic battle between fantasy creatures.
  • Some Important characters died.
  • Scary description for human and animal skeletons.
  • No detailed sexual references or nudity in this book, you will find a few kisses and some hand-holding and growing feelings of attraction and emotional intimacy.
  • Rare use of bad and offensive language, One mention of giving someone “hell.”
  • A villain uses toxic substances sometimes that have a soporific effect, making victims unable to think clearly or move easily.

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Story Plot

This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to that breathtaking and dazzling story.

This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to that breathtaking and dazzling story.

Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as Empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn’t want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the Empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng to take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won’t soon forget.

Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read.

Praise for Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix:

“There aren’t many authors who could so precisely undo their first book with their second, but it is this clever unweaving that shows Dao’s brilliance and skill. With heart-stopping action and wonderful new characters, this is not a sequel to be missed.” —EK Johnston, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A lush, enchanting tale of magic, myth, and absolute courage. At once gorgeously woven and deliciously gruesome, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is a thrilling end to a series that feels like a classic in its own right.” —Natalie Mae, author of The Kinder Poison

“Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is the stunning counterpoint to Forest of a Thousand Lanterns. A refreshing take on the classic heroine, and an adventure of stories nestled within stories, this is a book fairytale lovers will tuck among their most beloved treasures.” —Emily X.R. Pan, New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After

“Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix broke my heart and filled it, all at once. In the process, Julie C. Dao has turned a well-worn tale into something thrilling and new. Ornate, tender, and magical. I could not put this book down.” —Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night and Crown of Thunder

“Beautifully written and masterfully told, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix feels at once timeless and entirely new . . . I loved it with my whole heart.” —Margaret Rogerson, New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens.

[ SOURCE- Publishers.]

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Review

A young princess finds the courage to usurp an evil queen.

Upon Empress Xifeng’s dark and violent rise to power, Princess Jade was sent to a monastery to be raised in meditative simplicity. Pure-hearted Jade is the daughter of Emperor Jun’s first wife and a descendant of the Dragon King, in other words, a constant threat to her evil stepmother’s rule, and is summoned back to the Imperial City for her 18th birthday celebration. Jade quickly discovers her stepmother’s plot to poison the emperor and murder Jade using blood magic from the sinister Serpent God.

Disguised as a commoner, Jade escapes with the help of her beloved Amah (nursemaid) and a handful of servants still loyal to the true heir. Thus begins a quest to save the kingdoms of Feng Lu, following crumbs from Amah’s moral tales and a legend that prophesies that “the one who reunites the relics will bring peace to Feng Lu once more.”

In this sequel to A Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (2017), Dao marries Chinese history with Western folklore, which will entrance some readers, but the well-trodden paths involving forbidden poisoned apples, legendary swords, and magic invisibility cloaks will frustrate those who enjoyed the rich characterizations in Book 1, Xifeng’s descent into villainy in particular.

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Trailer

A grand adventure for fans of fairy tales, fables, and legends coupled with the vibrant history of Chinese dynasties. 

Stay tuned to get more updates on the age rating of all movies, tv shows, books, and games. Finally, any suggestions are always welcomed.

Also, please make use of the comment box for your reviews. We are always providing all age ratings for kids, We will make the easy and best way for your kids.

What Do You Think?