A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

A Clash of Kings is the second novel in A Song of Ice and Fire fantasy series by American author George R. R. Martin and consists of seven volumes.

It was first published on November 16, 1998, in the United Kingdom. The novel has been adapted for television by HBO as the second season of the TV series Game of Thrones.

Book NameA Clash of Kings
AuthorGeorge R.R. Martin
Genrefantasy book, Fiction
Date of PublicationNovember 16th, 1998
No. of Page969
PublisherBantam Books

As a whole, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill these pages and transport us to a world unlike any we have ever experienced. 

The series of novels include A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter, and A Dream of Spring.

A Clash of Kings Age Rating

“A Clash of Kings” has been rated 17+ as it contains Graphic sex and sexual acts, incest, rape, gang rape, genital mutilation, prostitution, domestic violence, subjugation of women, and forced child marriage.

A Clash of Kings Parents Guide 

This book is definitely less graphic than the show.
The book contains violence, which often strikes without warning to the guilty and the innocent alike.
The book does have some sex, but not nearly as graphic as the show.
There are beheadings, sword fights, wolf attacks, rapes, and death by molten gold.
The graphic details of injuries or deaths are usually provided.
A 13-year-old girl is sold off into forced marriage, raped daily, and starts to enjoy the rape and fall in love with the rapist.
Characters are involved in a sexual relationships with multiple partners. And a queen is in love with her own brother and both were involved in a sexual relationship.
Profanity is used throughout the book damn, b@stard, c**t” and f**k.
Adults and teens drink alcohol at courts and in pubs.

A Clash of Kings Summary

A comet the color of blood and flame cuts across the sky. Two great leaders—Lord Eddard Stark and Robert Baratheon—who hold sway over an age of enforced peace are dead, victims of royal treachery. Now, from the ancient citadel of Dragonstone to the forbidding shores of Winterfell, chaos reigns. Six factions struggle for control of a divided land and the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, preparing to stake their claims through tempest, turmoil, and war.

It is a tale in which the brother plots against the brother and the dead rise to walk in the night. Here a princess masquerades as an orphan boy; a knight of the mind prepares a poison for a treacherous sorceress, and wild men descend from the Mountains of the Moon to ravage the countryside. Against a backdrop of incest and fratricide, alchemy and murder, victory may go to the men and women possessed of the coldest steel…and the coldest hearts. For when kings clash, the whole land trembles.

Here is the second volume in George R.R. Martin’s magnificent cycle of novels which includes A Game of Thrones and A Storm of Swords. As a whole, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill these pages and transport us to a world unlike any we have ever experienced. Already hailed as a classic, George R.R. Martin’s stunning series is destined to stand as one of the great achievements of imaginative fiction.

“I will hurt you for this. I don’t know how yet, but give me time. A day will come when you think yourself safe and happy, and suddenly your joy will turn to ashes in your mouth, and you’ll know the debt is paid.”

― George R.R. Martin, A Clash of Kings


  • Prologue: Maester Cressen, maester at Dragonstone
  • Tyrion Lannister, youngest son of Lord Tywin Lannister, a dwarf and a brother to Queen Cersei, and the acting Hand of the King to Joffrey Baratheon
  • Lady Catelyn Stark, of House Tully, widow of Eddard Stark, Lord of Winterfell
  • Ser Davos Seaworth, a smuggler turned knight in the service of King Stannis Baratheon, often called the Onion Knight
  • Sansa Stark, the eldest daughter of Eddard Stark and Catelyn Stark, held captive by King Joffrey in King’s Landing
  • Arya Stark, youngest daughter of Eddard Stark and Catelyn Stark, missing and presumed dead
  • Bran Stark, the second son of Eddard Stark and Catelyn Stark, ruling in Winterfell in his elder brother’s absence
  • Jon Snow, bastard son of Eddard Stark, and a man of the Night’s Watch
  • Theon Greyjoy, heir to the Seastone Chair and former ward of Lord Eddard Stark
  • Queen Daenerys Targaryen, the Unburnt and Mother of Dragons, of the Targaryen dynasty

A Clash of Kings Trailer


About The Writer

George Raymond Richard “R.R.” Martin was born September 20, 1948, in Bayonne, New Jersey. His father was Raymond Collins Martin, a longshoreman, and his mother was Margaret Brady Martin. He has two sisters, Darleen Martin Lapinski and Janet Martin Patten.

Martin attended Mary Jane Donohoe School and Marist High School. He began writing very young, selling monster stories to other neighborhood children for pennies, dramatic readings included. Later he became a comic book fan and collector in high school and began to write fiction for comic fanzines (amateur fan magazines). Martin’s first professional sale was made in 1970 at age 21: “The Hero,” sold to Galaxy, published in February 1971 issue. Other sales followed.

A Clash of Kings Age Rating, Parents Guide | A Song of Ice and Fire Book2
A Clash of Kings Age Rating, Parents Guide | A Song of Ice and Fire Book2

Official website: georgerrmartin.com

Stay tuned to get more updates on the age rating of all movies, tv shows, books, and games. Finally, any suggestions are always welcomed. Fire and Blood Parents Guide 

Also, please make use of the comment box for your reviews. We are always providing all age ratings for kids, We will make the easy and best way for your kids.

Hi, I am Henna. I am working with age rating juju as a content writer for one year. I choose to write because it is something that gives you a chance to explore yourself, that's what I am doing.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *