Game of Thrones Books Series in Order (how many game of thrones books are there)

There are currently five books of Game of Thrones out right now, and two more are on the way. There is also a prequel book.

All books were written by American novelist and author George R. R. Martin for which he got Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel.

It defines the history of Targaryens and chronicles the conquest that united the Seven Kingdoms under Targaryen rule through to the Dance of the Dragons.

Fire & Blood (Game of Thrones Prequel)

Green Round Banner

In this book, Dany marries Khal Drogo and makes dragon babies and Ned Stark dies.

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

In this edition, Dany goes to a weird Qarth and Joffrey gets the Iron Throne and does evil things.

A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2)

 A STORM OF SWORDS is the third volume in the series in which Evil Joffrey dies and  Dany acquires the Unsullied army. 

A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3)

In the 4th publishing,  Brienne spends a ton of time on the hunt for Sansa, who's hiding in the Vale with Littlefinger and Arya starts training with the Faceless Men.

A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 4)

In the 5th part Dany, in Mereen, locks up her dragons because they're too dangerous and  Bran meets the Three-Eyed Crow.

A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 5)

George R.R. Martin is an Executive Producer on HBO’s Emmy Award-winning Game of Thrones, which is based on his A Song of Ice and Fire series.